Uta Landy and Philip Darney receive Margaret Sanger Award

Congratulations to Uta Landy and Philip Darney, UCSF Bixby Center members recognized by Planned Parenthood with their highest honor, the Margaret Sanger Award.

The award recognizes “leadership, excellence, and outstanding contributions to the reproductive health and rights movement.” Drs. Landy and Darney have devoted their careers to training the next generation of women’s health care providers. Dr. Landy directs the Ryan Residency Training Program and the Fellowship in Family Planning. Dr. Darney is a professor in the department of UCSF Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences, former chief of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the San Francisco General Hospital, and co-founder of the UCSF Bixby Center.

The Margaret Sanger Award is given annually, and past recipients have included the Reverend Martin Luther King (1966), Alan Guttmacher, Sr. (1972), Katherine Hepburn (1983), Bella Abzug (1991), Justice Harry Blackmun (1996), Delores Huerta (2007), Kenneth Edelin (2008), Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton (2009) and Anthony Romero (2011).